Vital Football

Latest Bury FC News

PFA League One Team Of The Year 2017

PFA League One Team Of The Year 2017

This week the Professional Footballers Association announced their League One Team of the Year for the season of 2016/17.

With a handful of games remaining in the current season, the PFA will be holding their 44th awards ceremony in London this Sunday (April 23).

Ahead of the event which will see the PFA Player and Young Player and the WSL Player and Young Player of the Year winners announced - Click Here for shortlists - the votes from PFA members from 100 clubs from the Premier League, Football League and Women's Super League have been tallied to compile the divisional select XI's for the campaign.

Not surprisingly given the battle at the top of League One this year, Sheffield United heavily dominate the selection.

Simon Moore - Sheffield United
James Meredith - Bradford City
David Wheater - Bolton Wanderers
Mark Beevers - Bolton Wanderers
Kieron Freeman - Sheffield United
John Fleck - Sheffield United
Erhun Oztumer - Walsall
Josh Morris - Scunthorpe United
Mark Duffy - Sheffield United
James Vaughan - Bury
Billy Sharp - Sheffield United

The other divisional Team of the Years were announced as.

Premier League
David de Gea - Manchester United
Kyle Walker - Tottenham Hotspur
Gary Cahill - Chelsea
Davis Luiz - Chelsea
Danny Rose - Tottenham Hotspur
Eden Hazard - Chelsea
Dele Alli - Tottenham Hotspur
N'Golo Kante - Chelsea
Sadio Mane - Liverpool
Harry Kane - Tottenham Hotspur
Romelu Lukaku - Everton

David Stockdale - Brighton
Ryan Sessegnon - Fulham
Jamal Lascelles - Newcastle United
Lewis Dunk - Brighton
Bruno - Brighton
Anthony Knockaert - Brighton
Jonjo Shelvey - Newcastle United
Aaron Mooy - Huddersfield Town
Tom Cairney - Fulham
Dwight Gayle - Newcastle United
Chris Wood - Leeds United

League Two
Luke McCormick - Plymouth Argyle
Enda Stevens - Portsmouth
Christian Burgess - Portsmouth
Sonny Bradley - Plymouth Argyle
Kelvin Mellor - Blackpool
Luke Berry - Cambridge United
Graham Carey - Plymouth Argyle
James Coppinger - Doncaster Rovers
Nicky Adams - Carlisle United
Danny Hylton - Luton Town
John Marquis - Doncaster Rovers


Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

Writer:Site Staff
Date:Saturday April 22 2017
Time: 9:00AM

Login to post a comment

Recent Bury Articles

September TV Selections Made - Soon To Be Announced

Sky Sports selected their TV picks for the month of September last week and fans will know which games have effected on Wednesday.

Academy Sides Now Drawn For EFL Trophy 2017

A short time ago the EFL finally announced who would be playing which Academy side in this year's EFL Trophy.

Groups To Be Confirmed For EFL Trophy 2017/18

Following on from the earlier draw for clubs in League One and Two, the 16 invited Category One...

EFL Trophy Group Stage Info 2017

With the announcement of the Category One Academy clubs that had been invited to participate in this year's EFL Trophy yesterday, here are the full...

Archived Vital Bury Articles

Vital Bury articles from

Site Journalists

Write for Vital Bury
Write For Vital Bury
Apply Here

Current Poll (see more polls)

Bury v Southend
Suggested By:
Bury win32%
Southend win41%
The Vital Football Members League
Latest F1 News
Latest Vital Boxing News
Vital Football Comment

Recent Bury Results (view all)

Write for Vital Football